About Us

“A small association with a great commitment for animal protection.”

In October 2011, it finally happened: We founded the Association for Wildlife Protection, Verein zum Schutz wilder Tiere e.V. As early as in the middle of 2011, animal friends gathered in Freiburg and decided to no longer stand and watch the extinction of unique species in the world. Quickly it became clear to us, that we did not only want to support international animal protection projects financially, but also actively form part of the animal protection movement. During the course of the year, the idea of founding our own association matured. We wanted to manage the donations transparently according to their purpose of serving animals’ most urgent needs.

“Wildlife conservation is only  possible with a shared holistic disposition.”

In cooperation with other animal welfare groups on a national and international level, we want to create synergies to render our efforts for the protection of the species most effective. At the same time, we also want to promote scientific research and boost developmental assistance for the benefit of the local population (in accordance with § 58 no. 2 AO).

The gorilla is depicted on our logo and its protection is particularly important to us. In October 2011, after months of preparation, research and the development of ideas, we succeeded not only in establishing the AWP, but also initiated our first large gorilla conservation project. In collaboration with the WWF Germany, we were able to donate a car repair shop to the national park Dzanga Sangha in the Central African Republic. This repair shop is destined to support rangers in their efforts to protect a large herd of lowland gorillas amidst the political unrest in the country.

“A voice for animals!”

With our researches and video clips, we also want to inform the public and raise awareness to the abuses and threats that particular species are facing. If there a public awareness of the sometimes dramatic situations of individual species exists, only then sufficient resources can be gathered to protect the animals in danger.

Animals cannot speak for themselves. They need our support to be able to survive and live a life in dignity and freedom!

 

satzung-13-5-2013

Über uns

„Ein kleiner Tierschutzverein mit großem Engagement.“

Im Oktober 2011 war es endlich soweit: Wir gründeten die Association for Wildlife Protection, den Verein zum Schutz wilder Tiere e.V. Schon Mitte des Jahres hatten sich freiburger Tierfreunde versammelt und beschlossen, der Ausrottung einzigartiger Tierarten nicht länger tatenlos zuzusehen. Schnell wurde klar: Wir wollen nicht nur notwendige internationale Tierschutzprojekte finanziell unterstützen, sondern auch selbst aktiv den Tierschutz mitgestalten. Im Laufe des Jahres reifte die Idee von einem eigenen Verein. Nur so können wir sicher sein, dass Spendengelder transparent bleiben und ihrem Zweck entsprechend dort ankommen, wo die Tiere sie am meisten brauchen.

„Wildtierschutz geht nur gemeinsam mit einem ganzheitlichen Ansatz.“ 

Durch Kooperation mit anderen Tierschützern auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene wollen wir Synergien schaffen, um den Artenschutz effektiver zu gestalten. Dabei wollen wir auch wissenschaftliche Forschungen fördern oder eine Entwicklungszusammenarbeit stärken, die der lokalen Bevölkerung zu Gute kommt (nach Maßgabe § 58 Nr. 2 AO).

Auf unserem Logo ist der Gorilla, dessen Schutz uns besonders am Herzen liegt. Nach Monaten der Vorbereitung, Recherche und Ideenentwicklung, gelang im Oktober 2011 nicht nur die Gründung der AWP, sondern auch schon der Start eines ersten Gorillaschutz-Projektes. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem WWF- Deutschland spendete unser Verein eine Autowerkstatt für den Nationalpark Dzanga-Sangha, die wir in die Zentralafrikanischen Republik verschifften. Sie soll die Arbeit der Wildhüter in diesem Gebiet erleichtern, um eine große Herde von Flachlandgorillas vor den politischen Unruhen im Land zu schützen.

„Eine Stimme für die Tiere!“

Mit unseren Recherchen und Videobeiträgen wollen wir zudem über Missstände und die Bedrohung einzelner Tierarten informieren und so zur Aufklärung und Sensibilisierung der Öffentlichkeit beitragen. Denn nur, wenn ein öffentliches Bewusstsein über die teils dramatische Lage einzelner Tierarten besteht, können auch ausreichend Mittel zum Schutz dieser Art gesammelt werden.

Die Tiere können nicht für sich sprechen. Sie brauchen unsere Unterstützung, damit ihr Überleben gewahrt bleibt und sie ein Leben in Würde und Freiheit führen können!

 

satzung-13-5-2013